High Sheriff’s Awards

High Sheriff’s Awards

In Shropshire, the High Sheriff is privileged to be involved in or present at several awards ceremonies. For each of the Emergency Services, the Shropshire Colleges’ Outstanding Young Person’s awards, their own High Sheriff’s Awards and many more.

The High Sheriff’s Personal Award

In recent years the High Sheriff of Shropshire has made a number of personal awards to recognise and celebrate the work of individuals and organisations within the County who have made outstanding contributions to the communities in which they live or work.

Contributions to Community Life

Nominations will be welcome for people who have made outstanding contributions to any aspect of community life.

Brian Welti JP, current High Sheriff of Shropshire has given
High Sheriff’s Awards to:

Sally Cooke – SDAS Volunteer

Martin Wood – Town Crier of Shrewsbury


During 2023/24, High Sheriff’s Awards have been given to:

Ellesmere Yarn Bombers

Stuart Cook – Allsports Coaches Coaching Academy CIC

Jessie Benson

Gareth Jenkins – Shrewsbury Drapers Company

Ironbridge JuniorRowing Coaching Team

Tom Wellings – Bridgnorth Festive Tractor Run

Josh Barratt – Bridgnorth Festive Tractor Run

Nick Heard – St. Martins Youth Club, Oswestry

Sue Heard – St. Martins Youth Club, Oswestry

Edgmond Explorers

Caroline Thewles, Shrewsbury Choral Society

Cody Sansome – Southall School, Dawley

Colin Davies – Bikes 4 Change

Cathy Haddock – The Coracle Public House

Lee Haddock – The Coracle Public House

Clare Bailey

Rae Anyidoho – Telford & Wrekin Young Peoples Forum

Helen Avraam

Lokendra Poudel

Papa Singh Dudrah

Paula Ottey – Interfaith Community Hub, Wellington


Volunteer Phlebotomists – Lions’ Prostate Cancer Screening

Dawley Food Bank Volunteers Group

Cllr Raj Meta – Telford Interfaith Council

Nakita Kang – Wellington Leisure Centre

Joe Care – Wellington Leisure Centre

Susie Nicholls – Wellington Leisure Centre

Faith Cooper – Wellington Leisure Centre

Alex Holloway – Wellington Leisure Centre

Ruth Giblin – Wellington Leisure Centre

The Court Players, Wellington

In the previous five years, High Sheriff’s Awards have been made to:



Moira Biggs

Colin Cole CCTV scheme in Oswestry

National Probation Service S&T

Specialist Housing service – Advice Team (Wrekin)

Rex Mavir Fundraising

Robert Green East Shropshire Talk Newspaper

Climbing Out

Sandra Fraser Dog Aid

Newport Warm Welcome Group

Michelle John PEGS

Stuart Danks

Olive Fish RCC hearing loss support volunteer

Lea Bevan Foodshare

Telford Chin Woo


Shrewsbury Ark

Teresa Richards Derwen College

Margaret Edwards Poyners Ludlow

Jean Palmer Poyners Ludlow

Toby Rippard

Age UK – Shropshire and T&W

Bright Star Boxing Academy


Judy King Fundraising

Gareth Jenkins

Eric Davies – Market Drayton Health and Wellbeing Festival

Nominations are now invited for the 2024/25 High Sheriff Awards. Nominations can be made by anyone who lives or works in Shropshire, whether in the public, voluntary and charitable or private sectors.

All nominations will be treated in the strictest confidence and nominees should not be informed that they have been nominated as it can be very disappointing to raise expectations that are not then met.

The Nomination Process

The deadline for nominations is 14 February 2025. Successful nominees will be contacted by 28 February 2025 and the High Sheriff Awards will be conferred at a ceremony on a date to be confirmed, to which nominators, families and friends will also be invited.

To make a nomination, please download the Awards Nomination Form that has been prepared for this purpose, and return the completed form to the High Sheriff preferably by email to Shropshire@highsheriffs.com.

“If you are a member of the judiciary or emergency services, either as a blue light or a volunteer and would like me to visit, please do let me know.”

– Brian Welti JP

Email me at: shropshire@highsheriffs.com